Saints Win NFC South Title Despite Loss To Tampa Bay

The New Orleans Saints are NFC South Division champions despite losing 31-24 to the Buccaneers in the regular season finale at Raymond James Stadium.

The Saints clinched the division title after Atlanta beat Carolina.

Drew Brees was 22-of-30 for 245 yards and a touchdown for the Saints, who are 11-and-5.  New Orleans earned the fourth-seed in the NFC playoffs and will host the Panthers in the Wild Card round next Sunday.

"It's single-elimination, yeah," said Brees. "But here's the thing - if you prepare that way, if you take the approach throughout your week of preparation and then gameday that you always have something to prove and you're always playing as if it's your last then - every game is the same."

Jameis Winston was 28-of-51 for 363 yards, including a game-winning TD to Chris Godwin with 39 seconds left.  Winston also had a rushing score for the Bucs, who end the year 5-and-11.

Copyright © 2018 TTWN Media Networks LLC Photo: Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content