N.O. On List of "Sanctuary Jurisdictions"

New Orleans has joined 118 other communities on a list of "sanctuary jurisidictions" compiled by the Trump administration.

The administration says New Orleans will not honor a request to detain an illegal immigrant unless it receives a criminal warrant or an order from a judge.

In an executive order signed by the President in January, "sanctuary jurisdictions" were defined as communities or states that "willfully violate federal law in an attempt to shield aliens from removal from the United States.'

"These jurisdictions have caused immeasurable harm to the American people and to the very fabric of our Republic," the order indicated.

The President ordered the Department of Homeland Security to publish a weekly list of all detention requests turned down by local jails.

New Orleans made the list covering the period from January 28 to February 3 when the Sheriff's Office reportedly declined to detain a Mexican citizen who had been convicted of battery.

Reports will be issued weekly to “highlight jurisdictions that choose not to cooperate with ICE detainers or requests for notification, therefore potentially endangering Americans.”

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content