Legislation Would Fine "Johns" Heavily

Louisiana State Capitol Building in Baton Rouge at Night

Legislation is headed to the full Louisiana House that would increase the minimum fine for those convicted of soliciting prostitutes.

NOLA.com | The Times-Picayune reports a House committee voted 9-6 Thursday in favor of a Senate bill that would hike the fine from $500 to $1,000.

A person would be hit with a $5,000 fine if they knew the prostitute was underage or a victim of human trafficking.

Jail time would still be maxed out at six months.

Copyright © 2018 TTWN Media Networks LLC Photo: Getty Images

title

Content Goes Here