State House, Senate Select New Leaders

Louisiana State Capitol

The Louisiana House has elected Gonzales Republican Clay Schexnayder as speaker.

House officials announced yesterday that Schexnayder would assume the position following a 60-45 vote.

Democrats were expected to win an increased number of chairs in the House in exchange for their support.

Attorney General Jeff Landry took Schexnayder's win as a "blow" after he backed another Republican nominee, Rep. Sherman Mack.

In total, 39 members of the Senate were sworn in to office during Monday's ceremonies, with 20 of them new to the Senate.

That body will be led by Republican Sen. Page Cortez, who was elected in an unanimous decision by his colleagues, beating out Senators Rick Ward, III and Ronnie Johns.

Cortez succeeds outgoing state Senator John Alario, who served in the legislature for 48 years.

The newly elected president said after the organizational ceremony that he plans to announce committee assignments in the next week or so, with a priority on the Senate Finance Committee.

The 2020 regular session begins on March 9th.

Copyright © 2020 TTWN Media Networks LLC Photo: Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content