Texas, Oklahoma Formally Ask To Join Southeastern Conference

SEC Championship - Missouri v Auburn

Photo: Getty Images

Both the Universities of Texas and Oklahoma have submitted formal applications to join the Southeastern Conference.

If approved, the schools would begin conference play in 2025.

In a statement, the SEC says there's clear consensus among conference members that adding more schools will lead to academic and athletic achievement.

The conference will take a vote on adding the two schools and it needs three-quarters approval to pass.

Copyright © 2021 TTWN Media Networks Inc.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content